Jimmy Vernon Rd1 win

Vernon Victorious in 2022 Season Opener

Jimmy Vernon has taken victory in round one of the 2022 NSW Production Touring Cars Championship at Wakefield Park in his Mitsubishi Evo X, after a close battle with Harrison Cooper and Dimitri Agathos in the one-hour enduro.

Vernon ran third in the early stages of the race behind Agathos and Cooper before being one of the first competitors to take a compulsory pit stop on lap nine.

Once the pit stop shuffle was complete, Vernon resumed just behind Cooper but was able to overtake his fellow Mitsubishi Evo driver in the final stint to take victory; Agathos finished in third position.

The top three cars were all in Class A1; the highest-placed Class X driver was Simon Hodges, who finished on the lead lap in his BMW M4.

Class A2 was taken out by Robert Coulthard and Trevor Symmonds in their HSV GTS, while Class B1 went to Adam Gosling, who scored a fine fifth outright in his Honda Civic Type R.

Class B2 honours went to Jonathan Fishburn/Bevan Tanner with eighth outright in their VT Commodore, while the father-and-son team of Robert and Alex Bryden took out Class C in their VW Scirocco and Sean and Liam Cade won Class D with an outright top 10 finish in their VW Golf GTI.

Earlier in the weekend, a pair of sprint races were held with Dimitri Agathos winning the Driver A sprint and Lachlan Gibbons taking out the Driver B sprint.

The next round of the NSW Production Touring Cars Championship will be held at Wakefield Park on 14-15 May.

Share this post