NSW PTC Announces Calendar, New Committee for 2021

The NSW Production Touring Cars Championship has announced its 2021 calendar, which will feature a combination of sprint and endurance events held at Sydney Motorsport Park and Wakefield Park, along with a non-championship visit to Queensland Raceway in October.

For both competitors and spectators, some of the highlights on the calendar will be the night races, held under the state-of-the-art new lighting system at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The management committee for NSW PTC was also elected by the members at the recent Annual General Meeting, with multiple series champion and passionate racer Chris Reeves selected as President, while Garry Mennell will bring his vast experience as a driver, team owner and category manager to the Vice-President role.

Brent Howard and Carolyn Peterson retain their respective Secretary and Treasurer roles, while Simon Hodges and Brian Anderson join Steve Hodges, Adam Gosling and Anthony Soole as general committee members. Anderson will also act as Category Manager at rounds of the championship, with Technical Director Chris Gough overseeing vehicle eligibility.

Reeves said he cannot wait for the 2021 season to kick off.

“I’ve been involved in the NSW Production Touring Cars for a number of years now and I love it as much as ever,” Reeves said.

“I’m humbled to be elected as President for the category and after such a tough 2020 season, I think everyone is really looking forward to hitting the track in 2021.

“We’re pleased we’ve been able to deliver a good mixture of events; the night races at Sydney Motorsport Park will be spectacular, but Wakefield Park is a circuit that suits our cars as well.

“One of the things that makes our series unique is the variety and diversity of cars in the field; we have a good mixture of short and long-distance races that will play to the strengths and weaknesses of different cars and give everyone a chance to shine.”

The season will commence with a non-championship round under lights at Sydney Motorsport Park in March, while the first point-scoring event will be an endurance round at Wakefield Park in May.


MRF Tyres NSW PTC – 2021 Calendar

NC. Sydney Motorsport Park, 27 March (night sprint)

Rd1. Wakefield Park, 22-23 May (enduro)

Rd2. Sydney Motorsport Park, 26-27 June (day/night sprint)

Rd3. Sydney Motorsport Park, 31 July-1 August (enduro)

(TBC) NC. Sydney Motorsport Park, 4 September (Muscle Car Masters sprint)

Rd4. Wakefield Park, 25-26 September (sprint)

NC. Queensland Raceway, 23-24 October (2 x 1hr enduro)

Rd5. Sydney Motorsport Park, 6-7 November (enduro)

Share this post