SMP Rd2 podium

Veteran Takes 2024 Lead After Two Rounds

Two rounds have been completed in the 2024  NSW Production Touring Cars Championship, and veteran Tony Virag has emerged as the series leader, albeit by a slender four-point margin from reigning champ Andrew McMaster.

Unusually, Virag has run in two separate classes in the opening two rounds; in the season opening endurance round at Winton, he teamed up with his soon-to-be son-in-law Liam Evans in a Class B2 Holden Commodore SS-V, while in Round 2 at Sydney Motorsport Park, he was behind the wheel of a Class X HSV GTS. But the combined points he scored in both rounds have been enough to put him to the top of the overall points table.

The leader of Class X is Brent Howard, who has graduated from his E92 BMW M3 to a newer F80, thus changing classes.

Behind the wheel of a BMW M135i, Michael Osmond leads Class A1 while another long-time runner in the category, Matt Holt, holds the lead in Class A2 aboard his HSV Clubsport.

In his Honda Civic Type R, Adam Gosling holds the ascendancy in Class B1 while Gavin Clarke (BMW E92 M3) leads Class B2.

In Class C, Matt Bolton (Renault Megane RS) is the only driver to score points so far and thus leads the way, while Andrew McMaster has returned to his winning ways in Class D, dominating the class so far in his BMW 125i.

The field is rounded out by the smaller-capacity cars in Class E, which is being led by RaceAway Track Time Mazda3 driver Ronin Lindenmayer.

Share this post