NSW PTC Competitors Battle Variable Wakefield Weather

Competitors in the NSW Production Touring Cars Championship have battled changeable weather conditions in Round 2 of the championship at Wakefield Park on the weekend, but Harrison Cooper has survived the variable grip levels to chalk up a trio of outright race victories in his Mitsubishi Evo X, leading home Matt Boylan (Mitsubishi Evo X) and Dimitri Agathos (Subaru STI) in all three races.

Cooper was out-qualified by Agathos, but charged his way to the front in Saturday afternoon’s dry race. On Sunday morning, the heavens opened for Race 2 and while the rain stopped in time for Race 3, the circuit was still damp and the all-wheel-drive cars capitalised on the advantage.

Thus, it was the Class A1 cars that dominated the outright placings throughout the event. Anthony Soole qualified his Class X BMW M4 in third position, but fell to fifth in Race 1 before drifting to 12th in Race 2 and surrendering the Class X win to Paul Pearson. Soole recovered to ninth in Race 3, just ahead of Pearson.

In Class A2, it was Robert Coulthard who took a trio of wins in his VE HSV GTS, with a best overall result of seventh in Race 3; his class rival, Brent Howard, adopted a cautious approach to the wet conditions in his BMW M3.

The sole Class B1 representative, Adam Gosling, scored a best finish of 10th in Race 2 while in Class B2, Liam Evans brought home two class victories highlighted by seventh outright in Race 1; the other Class B2 race win went to Bevan Tanner in Race 2.

Carl Climan drove his HSV Astra VXR to a trio of Class C victories, progressing to 11th outright in Race 3, but one of the most impressive performances of the weekend came from a Class D competitor.

After finishing second in class behind Liam Cade and 14th outright in Race 1, Stewart Follows took advantage of the conditions to haul his Ford Fiesta up to sixth outright in Races 2 and 3, well above where it belonged based on its performance levels.

The Class E victories in each race were taken out by Stephen Doorey in the RaceAway Track Time Mazda 3 SP25.

Share this post