Twin Enduro Kick-off for 2020 NSW PTC

The 2020 MRF Tyres NSW Production Touring Car Championship will launch into gear with a pair of one-hour endurance races at Sydney Motorsport Park, with a couple of new names joining some familiar faces.

For an added twist, the NSW PTC races will be held in conjunction with the Australian Production Car Series, ensuring a large and diverse field of vehicles will be in action at the SMP circuit.

BMW has proven to be a popular choice of manufacturer for Class A1 (High Performance Forced Induction) with Simon Hodges, the father-and-son combination of Urs/Tom Muller and Dieter/Alex Holzl all representing the German marque. Mercedes is also represented in the class, with Michael Sheargold/Alex Bryden entered in their RAM Motorsport A45 AMG, prepared by GWR Australia.

Taking the fight up to the Europeans will be Joe Krinelos (HSV GTS) and Stephen Thompson (Mitsubishi Evo).

In Class A2 (High Performance Naturally Aspirated), contenders with Aussie-built machinery will be the experienced Matthew Holt, brothers Daniel/Jacques Oosthuizen and Barry Sternbeck in their Holdens.

Like Class A1, the A2 Class also features some European thoroughbreds with Bradley Carr and Brent Howard/Garth Walden entered in BMW M3s.

The popularity of the BMWs continues into Class B1 (Performance Forced Induction) with veteran Peter O’Donnell entering his trusty 335i. O’Donnell will be joined in the class by Stephen Muller/Reece McIntosh in their VW Golf GTI.

The B2 (Performance Naturally Aspirated) Class is mainly the domain of six cylinder and V8 rear-wheel-drive vehicles; Adam Gosling will be strong in his E46 BMW M3, as will Corrine Virag in her VF Commodore SS.

In Class C, former Australian Karting Champion David Krusza makes his return to the category in a BMW E36 M3, while John Fitzgerald lines up in the Garry Mennell-owned BMW 130i.

Last year, Class D (Other Touring) featured a nail-biting contest between a couple of Toyota 86 drivers, with Edan Thornburrow clinching the title in the very last race of the season.

Thornburrow is back to defend his title, with his rivals including Zach Loscialpo (Toyota 86) and Michael Ferns (VW Golf).

The field is rounded out by the sole Class E (Small Capacity Touring) entrant, Nick Hickson who makes his category debut in a Mazda 626, formerly raced by a lengthy roster of drivers including Grant Denyer and Emily Duggan.

Click here for the full entry list.

The weekend format will consist of a trio of practice sessions on Friday, two qualifying sessions and Race 1 on Saturday, and Race 2 on Sunday.

Click here for the event schedule.

The racing action on both days will be live streamed via Blend Line TV’s YouTube channel and Facebook page.

Share this post