Race Report – Round 2 Sydney Motorsport Park 2013

Seton wins at Sydney Motorsport Park

Seton wins at Sydney Motorsport Park

Last weekends Sydney Motor Race Championship at Sydney Motorsport Park was challenging enough with the wet weather on Saturday, so why did one driver deliberately start rear of the grid for Sundays one hour race?

The Shaw Vineyard Production Touring Car Championships ran last weekend , just 3 weeks after the opening round at Bathurst.
Throw into the mix another one hour enduro and some rain, for what became another sensational weekend of racing.


Saturday the rains set in and a few drivers couldn’t of been happier, Glenn Seton and Tony Virag were two of a few guys doing the rain dance. Qualifying for driver one then qualifying for driver 2 was held in the morning.
Only a handful of drivers competed in the second session, some opting to save their tyres and not wanting to push their luck on the wet track, just for extra track time. There were a few heart in mouth moments, Gerry Murphy’s Evo 10 kept cutting out each time he applied the brakes, skimming across the grass and scrapping the barrier, he returned with some battle scars for the boys to buff out. Steve Shelly was the biggest casualty after being hit, major damage was done to his Evo but his team and help from the Pro Duct team, they all put in an awesome effort to get the car going for race 2 later in the day.
Glenn Seton in the Bob Pearson’s entry Evo 10 said he was coming to win, that’s what you race for. Glenn put the car on pole for both his races by more then 2 secs. Brett Heeley was absent from the weekend after blowing an engine in Friday’s private practice.
Driver B’s qualifying was an easier session, the track had a drier race line and only 7 cars, making traffic a non issue. Glenn Kenny’s BMW 323i had some rear end drama’s and would later miss the first race. A great effort from young 18 year old Zac Loscialpo, first time out in his dad’s GTS and he was 7 seconds quicker then dad Anthony. The other welcome surprise was the BF ute of Kieren Pilkington and Michael Kavich setting the fastest time for the Race 2 start.

The other father and son duo didn’t get to start the first race either, with a broken diff on Steve’s car and broken clutch on Jake’s, it was a repeat of Bathurst, once again watching from pit lane.

Race 1

The sun was trying to shine for the start of race one, but was still a slippery track as a few found out. First to spin off was Chris Reeves in his new Toyota 86 followed by Cary Morsink’s Savvy IT Holden who was lucky to not get cleaned up in the field. Showing the pace of the Evo’s in less then half a lap Seton already had a 3 sec lead. Team boss Bob Pearson didn’t make it easy for him and the two showed what brilliant racing is all about. The 15 minute race had these two guys changing the lead on every lap, Bob finally taking the chequered flag by less then 1/10 of a second. 3rd place was new comer Geoff Russell in the Lovton Coal Falcon GT of Michael Benton, followed by Steve Hodges in his new Liqui-Moly GTS . Unfortunately this circuit has a start line that is on a slight decline, Hodges was given a 5 sec penalty for rolling at the start putting him back to 6th and therefore giving Gus Barbara and Tony Virag 1st and 2nd in class A2. First home in B2 was Scott Sullivan, class C Brian Anderson and Class D Kevin Herben.

Race 2

Due to the short turn around since the last enduro, there were only 3 cars with co drivers this weekend, to keep the quality of racing consistent single drivers could compete in this race but with no series points allocated. With the track dried up significantly 17 cars opted to start. Jason Walsh in Anton’s Evo made up for the DNF in race 1 claiming a race victory, Steve Shelley and Gerry Murphy were the movers and shakers in this race, Murphy 2nd, Hodges 3rd, Shelley 4th and Tony Virag 5th.

Race 3

Sunday’s mid day 1 hour enduro bought with it a gorgeous day and everyone was pumped to get out there and race. Gerry Murphy candidly suggested to Glenn Seton earlier, that he should start from the rear of the grid, just to spice things up a little. Lo and behold Seto, much to everyone’s surprise, did just that and lined up at the back of the field. Hodges had the a brilliant start and lead the field but Pearson had him by turn 4. Seton was carving through the field like a hot knife through butter and by lap 4 was in 2nd position, 4 laps later he was in the lead. Tony Virag’s HSV lost 4th gear, a great effort to stay in the race, but luck was against him and he retired with 2 laps to go. Hodges great start was now gone, after being tapped in the rear his tail light had come lose, a mechanical black flag
5 mins before pit lane opened was shown, and cost him 9 positions. Steve Shelley pitted before the compulsory pit stop with what felt like a loose wheel. Zac Loscialpo was another to get mechanical black flag for a dragging bumper, it looked like luck was on his side as the pit lane window opened while he was in, Anthony wasn’t ready so they had to pit again. Great racing further down the field between Dean Potts, Chris Reeves Kevin Herben and Daniel Flanagan keeping it close and clean and all staying on the black stuff. Pearson left it until the closing minutes to carry out his pit stop, Seton was back in the lead and Bob rejoined in 2nd place.
Azim Sahu-Khan’s Integra had an electrical fault and the BF Ute had a gearbox failure, both on lap 10. Scott Sullivan retired with 7 laps to go, a bearing collapsed in his Commodore. Troy Harrison had a great pit stop until the car wouldn’t fire back up, the team push started it and then were given a 30 sec penalty post race. Shelley’s luck didn’t improve, both boys were penalised 2 laps for having more then the allowed crew over the line, for both their pit stops.


The podium was full of smiles with Glenn Seton 1st, Bob Pearson 2nd and 2012 championship winner Gerry Murphy in 3rd all in class A1.

Class A2 winner and 5th outright even after an additional pit stop was Steve Hodges, Kerry Millar & Marty Miller in 2nd and Gus Barbara 3rd.

Class B2 Dean Potts

Class C Brian Anderson

Class D Kevin Herben



Top 10

Bob Pearson 51
Steve Hodges 45
Brian Anderson 44
Gerry Murphy 42
Marty Miller 41
Gus Barbara 41
Jason Walsh 40
Dean Potts 40
Kevin Herben 39
Chris Reeves 37

Full state and club Championship points are on website.

Next round is back at SydneyMotorsport Park 22-23rd June. If you are interested in getting into the grass roots of motor sport, it’s affordable, fun and a great mix of cars and budgets, contact us via face book @ NSW Production Touring Cars or email via our website.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login