Media Release: NSW Prod Touring Car Champs Continue at Wakefield Park this weekend

Having kicked off the 2012 season in fine style, the NSW Production Touring Car Championship presented by Shaw Vineyard Estate continues this weekend with round two at the Wakefield Park circuit in Goulburn.

The first round of the NSW championship saw the Pro-Duct team, led by defending state champion, Bob Pearson, dominate proceedings with a three-car attack that featured Bruce Stewart and Jordan Cox in one-off drives. But it was the 2010 champion, Gus Barbara who came away from the weekend winning the newly created Class A2 for High Performance Normally Aspirated in the two races contested and the championship lead from Pearson and Anton Metchler, who won the first race of the season.

The turn out for this weekend’s second round is a decent one with 19 cars making the trek down the Hume Highway to the 2.62km venue situated 10km out of the CBD of Goulburn. Of the 19 cars entered, Class B2 for Performance Naturally Aspirated has the most subscribed entries with five cars entered, featuring Paul Wilbow, Paul Lane, David Atkin, David Potts and Scott Sullivan. Four cars are racing in Class A1 for High Performance Turbocharged (Bob Pearson, Gerry Murphy, Graeme Shaw and Peter Lown) and Class A2 for High Performance Normally Aspirated (Gus Barbara, Tony Virag, Brett Heeley and Robert Couthard), whilst Class C for Sports Touring (Azim Sahu-Khan and tony Cavanagh) and Saloon Cars (Luke King and Bradley Moss) has two cars each. Class B1 for Performance Turbocharged and Class D for Other Touring have a single representative in Paul Loiacono and Kevin Herben respectively.

Three heat races will be held this weekend with the first race over 16 laps to be held at 12:45pm on Saturday afternoon. Race two over 10 laps will be held from 9am on Sunday morning and the third and final race over 14 laps held just after 12:30pm on Sunday afternoon.


ROUND 1: Eastern Creek – March 31-April 1
ROUND 2: Wakefield Park – April 28-29
ROUND 3: Eastern Creek – June 9-10
ROUND 4: Wakefield Park – August 11-12 (1 Hour Enduro)
ROUND 5: Wakefield Park – November 3-4 (1 Hour Enduro)


You must be logged in to post a comment Login